Half Way There! By Kacie

Standard

Hola! What a trip this has been so far! God has really been speaking into my life. Before I came, I will be honest and say that I was not excited about teaching. I would rather be outside, working or playing games. But God had other plans for me. After the first couple of days, I fell in love with teaching and the kids just brought so much joy in my life. My attitude has changed and It has become apparent that “missions work” is not just digging holes or shoveling dirt, but wherever God is preached and here, that is in the classroom.

Everyday I teach about 5 English classes in the middle school and then have the after school program. We were not sure what we would be doing, so most of what we do is with what we brought. It reminds me of the story of when Jesus fed the five thousand. I am not sure how we have done all we have done, but God has surely provided for us! This past week was very eventful. Wednesday was a national free day in Guatemala so my family went to an amusment park. It was fun to get out of the city and to spend time with my family. Friday was a dia de guatemala in which the whole America Latina school dressed in traditional clothing. There was a parade around the block and after, each grade presented either a song or dance. There was typical food which was delicious. We tried Mole, Chuchitos and Tostadas. Our team went on thursday to buy our dresses for the day so it was so much fun to be a part of this event.

It´s just crazy to me that we have already been here for three weeks already. But I know that God is not through with our mission here and it will continue even after we return to the states. God has certainly been tangible as we work everyday in the lives of the kids and with the teachers. Pray that we can continue our work here and for health as we are starting to feel all effect of all the beans…. hahah but it has been such a blessing here and we are planning on coming back! adios y hasta luego.

Leave a Reply

